Site icon MOT Test Information

New MOT Inspection Manual May 2018 – guide to changes

DVSA New MOT Notification service

New MOT Inspection Manual from May 20th 2018

Helpful information for MOT Testers


The new MOT Inspection Manual is totally different from the older version. Here are the key differences:

Comparison between old and new Manual Sections

Testers will need to familiarise themselves with these section changes so that when they need to check something out, they won’t waste time looking for items in the wrong place.

Old Manual

Section 1     Lamps Reflectors and Electrical Equipment

Section 2     Steering and Suspension

Section 3     Brakes

Section 4     Road wheels and Tyres

Section 5     Seat Belts and Supplementary Restraint Systems (SRS)

Section 6     Body, Structure and General Items

Section 7     Exhaust, Fuel and Emissions

Section 8     Drivers View of the Road

Section 9     Motor Tricycles and Quadricycles

New Manual

Section 0     Identification of the Vehicle and Operator Services Agency

Section 1     Brakes

Section 2     Steering

Section 3     Visibility

Section 4     Lamps, reflectors and electrical equipment

Section 5     Axles, wheels, tyres and suspension

Section 6     Body, structure and attachments

Section 7     Other equipment

Section 8     Nuisance (includes emissions)

Section 9     Supplementary tests for buses and coaches

Section 10   Seat belt installation checks.

Revised Introduction

The new Introduction has these changes:

New MOT failure definitions

‘Reasons for Refusal’ have been dropped, being now called ‘Defects’. The three levels of Defect are:

Test Certificates will change. Here are three examples:

Pass certificate

MOT Test changes May 2018 – sample MOT Pass certificate

Pass certificate with defects / advisories


MOT changes May 2018 – sample MOT Pass certificate with minor defect and advisory

Fail certificate with major / dangerous defects.

MOT Test changes May 2018 – sample MOT Fail certificate with dangerous, major and minor defects

New Testable Items

➢  Oxygen sensor

➢  NOx sensor

➢  Exhaust gas recirculation valve

➢  Other emission control equipment

Removed Testable items:

New Inspections of existing Testable items

Identification of Vehicle


New failures for other braking system components damaged or corroded e.g. air dryer, antifreeze pump

Lamps, Reflectors and Electrical Equipment


Axles, Wheels, Tyres and Suspension


Chassis frame and Attachments


This new Section includes noise, emissions and fluid leaks

Other Equipment

Appendix A – Structural Integrity and Corrosion

Other changes

This includes many items which would currently be a Reason for Refusal, but will only be a Minor Defect after 20th May.

➢ Brake fluid level below minimum mark

➢  Master cylinder cap missing

➢ Brake fluid warning lamp illuminated or inoperative

➢ Power steering fluid below minimum mark

➢ Trailer electrical socket insecure

➢ Direction indicator flashing rate

➢ One of two registration plate lamps missing or inoperative

➢ Several audible warning defects

➢ Many items ‘insecure’ but not likely to become detached

Note: This is provided as a guide to MOT Testers to identify key differences in the new and old MOT Manuals to avoid mistakes. It is not necessarily a definitive list, and Testers should always refer to the official Manual when conducting an MOT inspection.

Exit mobile version