UK Car MOT Inspection Manual

UK MOT Inspection Manual, Passenger Cars and Light Commercial Vehicles

UK Car MOT Inspection Manual (Classes 3, 4, 5 and 7)

MOT Inspection Manual for Private Passenger and Light Commercial Vehicle Testing

Crown Copyright, sourced from DVSA February 2018

For motorists the MOT Inspection Manual is the key document. This is the ‘Bible’, MOT Testers are told, in their training which must be followed to the letter when inspecting vehicles for the MOT. The key point about the MOT examination itself is that it is very prescriptive – a ‘do this – do that’ instruction manual for the highly specific, so called ‘Testable items’ which must be inspected during an MOT examination.

Since May 20th the revised manual has replaced the previous Manual, and is now published online here:

Other Manuals:

The UK Motorcycle MOT Testing Manual

Related posts

Comment on this article